What are the different types of Pongal festival?

What are the different types of Pongal festival?

Four Days of Pongal

  • Day 1. Bhogi Pongal. The first day of Pongal is called Bhogi.
  • Day 2. Surya Pongal. The second day is the main day of Pongal and is celebrated as Surya Pongal.
  • Day 3. Maatu Pongal. The third day of Pongal is called Maatu Pongal.
  • Day 4. Kaanum Pongal. The fourth day of Pongal is called Kaanum Pongal.

How many types of Pongal are there in India?

There are four types of pongal dishes – the Chakarai Pongal, Venn Pongal, Melagu Pongal and Puli Pongal. The Chakarai or Sakkarai Pongal is generally prepared in temples as prasadam, while Venn Pongal is a savoury dish served in breakfast.

How many Pongal festivals are there?

Pongal festival is a four-day celebration affair. Each day is marked by different festivities- The first day is called the Bhogi festival; the Second day is called Thai Pongal; the Third day is called Mattu Pongal; the Fourth day is called Kaanum Pongal.

What are different names for Pongal in India?

Being one of the major Festivals of India, Pongal is celebrated all over India. At different regions, it is known by different names. It is known as Lohri in Punjab, Makar Sankranti in the North Indian states, Hadaga in Maharashtra, Bihu in Assam, Bhogi, Kanumu, Thai Pongal and Poki festival.

What is Bhogi Pongal?

About Bhogi Pongal 2022 Furthermore, farmers in the country worship Indra to receive a good harvest thereby bringing wealth and prosperity. They also worship their ploughs and other farm equipment on this day. In 2022, the festival of Bhogi will fall on Thursday, 13.

What are the 4 days of Pongal 2022?

Pongal 2022 Dates and Types: Know the significance of the four days of the harvest festival

  • Pongal 2022- Dates. Bhogi Pongal – January 13, Thursday.
  • Day 1: Bhogi Pongal. Bhogi marks the beginning of the four-day Pongal festival.
  • Day 2: Thai Pongal.
  • Day 3: Mattu Pongal.
  • Day 4: Kaanum Pongal.

What are the 3 days of Pongal called?

The biggest festival of Tamil Nadu starts on January 13th and ends on the 16th. Pongal corresponds with the Makar Sankranti and Uttarayan. Pongal is a four-day long festival celebrated with great enthusiasm. Bhogi Pongal, Thai Pongal also known as Surya Pongal, Mattu Pongal and Kaanum Pongal are the four festive days.

Is poush Parbon and Makar Sankranti same?

Today is Makar Sankranti. In West Bengal, popular festival known as Poush Sankranti or Poush Parbon, is celebrated with great enthusiasm. The rituals, puja and and traditional customs revolve around special food items, which are cooked in households only during the Sankranti or Uttarayan season.

What is Surya Pongal?

Surya Pongal – also called Suryan Pongal or Perum Pongal – is the second and main festive day, and is dedicated to the Hindu god Surya. It is the first day of the Tamil calendar month Tai, and coincides with Makara Sankranthi – a winter harvest festival celebrated throughout India.

Why is Kaanum Pongal celebrated?

Unmarried girls celebrate the festival by playing in the water at the river banks and pray the god to have a very successful matrimonial life. Kanni Pongal is celebrated coinciding Kaanum Pongal for the wellbeing of unmarried women and for the fertility.

Why is Bhogi celebrated?

Spiritually, the Bhogi festival is celebrated in honour of Lord Indira, who is the rain god, seeking her blessings to bring good rains and help the farmers with their harvest. The farmers also pray for their wealth and prosperity.

What is Uttarayana and Dakshinayana?

This motion of the sun going from south to north is called Uttarayana – the sun is moving towards north and when it reaches north it starts moving south and it is called Dakshinayana – the sun is moving towards south. This causes seasons which are dependent on equinoxes and solstices.

What are the different names of Sankranti?

It is known as Pedda Panduga in Andhra Pradesh, Makara Sankranti in Karnataka, Telangana, and Maharashtra, Pongal in Tamil Nadu, Magh Bihu in Assam, Magha Mela in parts of central and north India, as Makar Sankranti in the west, Makara Sankranti or Shankaranti in Kerala, and by other names.

What is the festival of Bhogi?

It is a festival celebrated widely in Tamil Nadu, Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Karnataka and Maharashtra….

Significance Midwinter festival
Celebrations Bonfire
Observances Bonfire
Date Last day of Agrahayana month of Hindu calendar

How is Kaanum Pongal celebrated?

The most important event observed on Kaanum Pongal is visiting the banks of River Kaveri. It is celebrated with friends and families just like ‘Bhai Dhuj’ and ‘Raksha Bandhan’. A scrumptious meal is prepared on this day. People pack lunches and then enjoy it with their families on the bank of Kaveri River.

How is Kanum Pongal celebrated?

Kaanum Pongal is the day of relaxation and enjoyment as it implies that people spend their time by arranging family trips, picnics, visiting neighbours and relatives houses.

Is Uttarayan and Makar Sankranti same?

But the problem of Makar Sankranti is unique: it goes entirely by the solar calendar. The clue to this mystery lies in the fact that Makar Sankranti is also called Uttarayan, or the day on which the sun begins its northward journey.

Why Uttarayan is celebrated?

It is the sign for farmers that the sun is back and that harvest season, Makara Sankranti/Mahasankranti, is approaching. This is considered one of the most important harvest days in India as it also marks the end of winter and the beginning of the harvest season.

What is Pongal called in Kerala?

Pongala is a harvest festival of Kerala and Tamil Nadu. The name ‘Pongala’ means ‘to boil over’ and refers to the ritualistic offering of porridge made of rice, sweet brown molasses, coconut gratings, nuts and raisins. Generally women devotees participate in this ritual. Tamil people celebrate as Pongal.

What are different names for Sankranti in India?

Various Names of Sankranti in India

  • Thai Pongal (Tamilnadu)
  • Uttarayan (Gujarat)
  • Lohri (Punjab)
  • Poush sôngkrānti (Bengal)
  • Suggi Habba (Karnataka)
  • Makara Chaula (Odisha)
  • Maghi Sankrant (Maharashtra and Haryana)
  • Magh/Bhogali Bihu (Assam)