Who won AO in 2015?

Who won AO in 2015?

Novak Djokovic defeated Andy Murray in the final, 7–6, 6–7, 6–3, 6–0 to win the men’s singles tennis title at the 2015 Australian Open. It was his fifth Australian Open title and his eighth major title overall.

Who has won the most Australian Open titles?

Novak Djokovic
Novak Djokovic holds the all-time Australian Open record with 9 titles.

When did Australian Open become a Grand Slam?

Unlike the other three Grand Slam tournaments, which became open in 1968, the Australian tournament opened to professionals in 1969.

Does the Australian Open winner get to keep the trophy?

The winner does not get to keep the actual trophy; a new replica is produced every year that the player gets to keep. The replica, which is always smaller than the original that is displayed during the trophy ceremony, is made from a sheet of solid silver, and takes over one hundred hours to complete.

Who was the winner of 2016 Australian Open title?

Defending champion Novak Djokovic defeated Andy Murray in a rematch of the previous year’s final, 6–1, 7–5, 7–6 to win the men’s singles tennis title at the 2016 Australian Open. It was his record-equaling sixth Australian Open men’s singles title (tying Roy Emerson) and eleventh major title overall.

How much is Australian Open trophy worth?

Dylan Alcott has hit out about the lack of prizemoney on offer for wheelchair tennis players ahead of this weekend’s Australian Open finals. The winners of the men’s and women’s singles trophies at Melbourne Park will each pocket $2.875 million, while the runners-up will receive $1.575 million.

How much do tennis players pay their team?

In tennis, players are independent contractors and can incur costs anywhere from $150,000 to $200,000 a year to play professionally if they field a full support team (including a coach and trainer). Even if they go it alone, expenses typically range from $40,000 to $100,000.

Who won women’s Wimbledon in 2015?

Serena Williams
Serena Williams defeated Garbiñe Muguruza in the final, 6–4, 6–4 to win the ladies’ singles tennis title at the 2015 Wimbledon Championships.

Who won the 2017 Australian Open men’s title?

Roger Federer
Roger Federer defeated Rafael Nadal in the final, 6–4, 3–6, 6–1, 3–6, 6–3 to win the men’s singles tennis title at the 2017 Australian Open.