What is digital literacy in high school?

What is digital literacy in high school?

Digital literacy is the ability to find, evaluate, utilize, share, and create content using online resources including eBooks, websites, social media, and videos.

What is digital literacy curriculum?

Digital literacy is the ability to navigate our digital world using reading, writing, technical skills, and critical thinking. It’s using technology—like a smartphone, PC, e-reader, and more—to find, evaluate, and communicate information.

What are the 5 digital literacy skills?

5 Digital literacy skills employers want to see

  • Independent research.
  • Familiarity with terms and common platforms.
  • Collaboration.
  • Adapting to new technology.
  • Teaching or explaining technologies you use.

What are the 7 digital literacies?

Jisc’s model was developed for the higher education (HE) sector and identifies seven elements of digital literacies. These are: digital scholarship information literacy media literacy communications and collaboration career and identity management ICT literacy learning skills.

What are the 4 principles of digital literacy?

4 Principles Of Digital Literacy

  • 4 Principles Of Digital Literacy. Comprehension.
  • Comprehension. The first principle of digital literacy is simply comprehension–the ability to extract implicit and explicit ideas from a media.
  • Interdependence.
  • Social Factors.
  • Curation.

What are examples of digital literacy?

Examples of Digital Literacy skills

  • Using your phone to check emails.
  • Using an online search engine to find the answer to a question.
  • Using online search to complete a research project.
  • Creating an online profile on a social media platform.

What are the 8 components of digital literacy?

Educator and researcher Doug Belsahw discusses his digital literacy (or rather digital literacies) framework: the eight essential elements of digital literacies are, according to Belshaw, the cognitive, the constructive, the communicative, the civic, the critical, the creative, the confident and the cultural.

What are the 3 main skills of digital literacy?

Competencies for digital literacy can be classified according to three main principles: Use, Understand and Create.

What are the six core skills of digital literacy?

One essential component of digital literacy when it comes to the field of pedagogy is deep learning, of which there are six core skills:

  • Collaboration. The ability to work collaboratively with others, with strong interpersonal and team-related skills.
  • Creativity.
  • Critical thinking.
  • Citizenship.
  • Character.
  • Communication.

What are the six different types of digital literacy?

Globally, the International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE) frames its benchmarks for digital literacy around six standards: creativity and innovation; communication and collaboration; research and information fluency; critical thinking, problem solving and decision making; digital citizenship; and …

How do you teach digital literacy to teens?

What are the 6 steps of teaching digital literacy?

  1. Teach students how to find reliable information from a Google search.
  2. Teach Google search techniques.
  3. Teach students how to encourage critical thinking online.
  4. Teach students about the ethical use of online resources.
  5. Teach students the basics of internet safety.

What are some examples of digital literacy?