What is a category B municipality?

What is a category B municipality?

(b) Category B: A municipality that shares municipal executive and legislative authority in its area with a category C municipality within whose area it falls. (c) Category C: A municipality that has municipal executive and legislative authority in an area that includes more than one municipality.

Where is Cape Agulhas municipality situated?

Western Cape Province
Description: The Cape Agulhas Local Municipality is a Category B municipality situated within the Overberg District in the Western Cape Province. It is one of four municipalities in the district, making up a third of its geographical area.

What are the 8 names of the metropolitan municipalities in South Africa?

South Africa has eight metropolitan municipalities, namely:

  • Buffalo City (East London)
  • City of Cape Town.
  • Ekurhuleni Metropolitan Municipality (East Rand)
  • City of eThekwini (Durban)
  • City of Johannesburg.
  • Mangaung Municipality (Bloemfontein)
  • Nelson Mandela Metropolitan Municipality (Port Elizabeth)

How many municipalities are there in Eastern Cape?

The Eastern Cape is divided into two metropolitan municipalities (Buffalo City Metropolitan Municipality and Nelson Mandela Bay Metropolitan Municipality) and six district municipalities, which are further subdivided into 31 local municipalities.

What is Category A of municipality?

(a) Category A: A municipality that has exclusive municipal executive and legislative authority in its area.

Which province is Cape Agulhas?

Western Cape

L’Agulhas Agulhas
Country South Africa
Province Western Cape
District Overberg
Municipality Cape Agulhas

What are the 3 municipalities?

Gauteng is divided into three metropolitan municipalities, the City of Ekurhuleni, City of Johannesburg and City of Tshwane Metropolitan Municipalities, as well as two district municipalities, which are further subdivided into six local municipalities.

Which municipality is in Eastern Cape?

The Eastern Cape local government sector is constituted by the two Metropolitan Municipalities (Buffalo City and Nelson Mandela Bay) and five district municipalities (Alfred Nzo, Amathole, Cacadu, Chris Hani and O.R. Tambo District Municipality).

What municipality is Port Elizabeth?

Port ElizabethGqeberha / Municipality

What is municipality of residence?

Your municipality of residence is usually the municipality in which you live.

What is the meaning of Agulhas?

a warm ocean current in the Indian Ocean flowing south along the southeastern coast of Africa.

Why is the Agulhas current important?

The Agulhas Current transports warm tropical Indian Ocean water southwards along the South African coast. It modulates the rainfall along the east coast and interior regions of South Africa by providing the latent heat of evaporation needed for onshore wind systems to pick up moisture and carry it inland.

Which is the biggest municipality in South Africa?

The City of Tshwane
The City of Tshwane is the capital of South Africa and is the largest municipality, as measured by land mass.

What municipality does mthatha fall under?

King Sabata Dalindyebo Local Municipality
King Sabata Dalindyebo Local Municipality is a municipality situated in the inland of Eastern Cape Province in South Africa. The municipality is made up of Mthatha and Mqanduli….King Sabata Dalindyebo Local Municipality.

King Sabata Dalindyebo
District OR Tambo
Seat Mthatha
Wards 35

Which municipality is Nelson Mandela Bay?

Nelson Mandela Bay Metropolitan Municipality.