What are the punishments for each level of Hell?

What are the punishments for each level of Hell?

More severe sins are punished in the lower circles of hell and a corresponding punishment is inflicted for each:

  • Circle two – lust.
  • Circle three – gluttony.
  • Circle four – greed.
  • Circle five – wrath.
  • Circle six – heresy.
  • Circle seven – violence.
  • Circle eight – fraud.
  • Circle nine – treachery.

What circle of Hell is theft?

The eighth circle of hell
The eighth circle of hell is reserved for those guilty of fraud. The circle is subdivided into 10 separate ditches, or Bolgia, representing various types of fraud: seducers, flatterers, simonists, sorcerers, unscrupulous politicians, hypocrites, thieves, deceivers, schismatics and falsifiers.

What is the punishment in the 4th circle of Hell?

In the Fourth Circle of Hell, sinners are punished by being forced to fight each other. Each person pushes a large, rolling weight with his or her chest and crashes into someone guilty of the opposing sin from the other side of the circle.

What is the punishment in the 1st circle of Hell?

First Circle (Limbo) Dante’s First Circle of Hell is resided by virtuous non-Christians and unbaptized pagans who are punished with eternity in an inferior form of Heaven.

What is the punishment in Circle 9?

The Ninth Circle of Hell: Punishments In Caina, sinners are encased in ice up to their necks. In Antenora, they are slightly more engulfed so that only their immovable heads are exposed. Two of the souls here are closely trapped together, and one is eating the other.

What is the punishment in Circle 8?

Canto XXVIII is dedicated to the ninth bolgia of the eighth circle, which contains those who through their actions caused schism and division between human beings. They are punished by having a section of their body cut or severed with a sword by a devil. As they walk round the circle, the wound is gradually healed.

What is the punishment in circle 9?

What is the punishment in Canto 8?

Argenti’s punishment is, as Virgil explains, a fitting reversal: arrogant and haughty on earth, he wallows in the lowly mud in hell. Virgil announces that they are approaching the city of Dis, and Dante sees a city with buildings glowing red.

What are the punishments for each sin?

Whether that be dismembered alive for the sin of wrath, to be force fed rats, toads, and serpents for the sin of gluttony, to be drowned in freezing water for the sin of envy, to be thrown in a pit of snakes for the sin of sloth, to be boiled in a vat of expensive oil for the sin of greed, to be smothered by fire and …

What is the punishment of Limbo?

Limbo was imagined by theologians to be a privileged zone on the very margin of Hell where the only punishment is deprivation. These souls are deprived of God and of heaven. But this is a place of no physical torment: “di duol senza martìri” (of sorrow without torment [Inf.

What are the 7 Hells?


  • 1.1 1st Hell: Pride.
  • 1.2 2nd Hell: Envy.
  • 1.3 3rd Hell: Wrath.
  • 1.4 4th Hell: Sloth.
  • 1.5 5th Hell: Greed.
  • 1.6 6th Hell: Gluttony.
  • 1.7 7th Hell: Lust.

What is the punishment in circle 8?

In Dantes Inferno circle 8, the eighth pit, is for those who are considered counselors of fraud and brought about the downfall of others; they intentionally misled others for their own gain by feeding them lies. Their punishment is to be burned in flames here in the 8th circle of Hell.

What is the punishment in circle 6?

Punishments. The punishment in the Sixth Circle is clear: sinners are trapped in burning tombs, and they suffer ”horrible pain. ” Virgil explains to Dante that there are more people being punished in the City of Dis than may appear to be the case.

What is the punishment in canto 7?

As Dante described in Canto Seven, the souls of the avaricious and the prodigal were punished by having to continuously push around extremely heavy weights using only their chests, occasionally even crashing in to one another.

What is the punishment in canto 5?

In Canto V, Dante and Virgil enter the second circle of hell, carnal lust. The punishment for the souls who have sin in lust is an “infernal storm, eternal in its rage”.

What does Jahannam look like?

Jahannam is Hell, where those who have been bad go. The Qur’an describes Jahannam as a place of scorching fire pits and boiling water, where people experience physical and spiritual suffering. It uses vivid descriptions as a way to stop Muslims from participating in sin.