What are the 17 Sustainable Development Goals for the period 2015 2030?

What are the 17 Sustainable Development Goals for the period 2015 2030?

The 17 sustainable development goals (SDGs) to transform our world:

  • GOAL 1: No Poverty.
  • GOAL 2: Zero Hunger.
  • GOAL 3: Good Health and Well-being.
  • GOAL 4: Quality Education.
  • GOAL 5: Gender Equality.
  • GOAL 6: Clean Water and Sanitation.
  • GOAL 7: Affordable and Clean Energy.
  • GOAL 8: Decent Work and Economic Growth.

What is the post-2015 UN development Agenda?

The Post-2015 Development Agenda was a process from 2012 to 2015 led by the United Nations to define the future global development framework that would succeed the Millennium Development Goals. The new framework, starting from 2016 is called Sustainable Development Goals.

How many Sustainable Development Goals did the UN have in 2015?

17 SDGs
Addis Ababa Action Agenda on Financing for Development (July 2015) Transforming our world: the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development with its 17 SDGs was adopted at the UN Sustainable Development Summit in New York in September 2015.

What are the 17 SDGs and define each?

The 17 Sustainable Development Goals are: (1) no poverty, (2) zero hunger, (3) good health and well-being, (4) quality education, (5) gender equality, (6) clean water, (7) affordable and clean energy, (8) decent work and economic growth, (9) industry, innovation and infrastructure, (10) reduced inequality, (11) …

What is India rank in SDG 2020?

India slips 3 spots to rank 120 on 17 SDG goals adopted as 2030 agenda: Report.

What are the 8 Millennium Development Goals of the UN?

The United Nations Millennium Declaration, signed in September 2000, commits world leaders to combat poverty, hunger, disease, illiteracy, environmental degradation, and discrimination against women. The MDGs are derived from this Declaration.

What is the meaning of suitable development?

“Sustainable development is development that meets the needs of the present without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs.”

Why is SDG 17 important?

SDG 17 calls for a global partnership for sustainable development. The goal highlights the importance of global macroeconomic stability and the need to mobilise financial resources for developing countries from international sources, as well as through strengthened domestic capacities for revenue collection.

How many countries have adopted the SDGs at the UN General Assembly in 2015?

193 countries
On 25 September 2015, the 193 countries of the UN General Assembly adopted the 2030 Development Agenda titled “Transforming our world: the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development”.

What are the eight Millennium Development Goals UN 2015?

The 8 Goals

  • Eradicate extreme poverty and hunger. Learn More ยป
  • Achieve universal primary education.
  • Promote gender equality and empower women.
  • Reduce child mortality.
  • Improve maternal health.
  • Combat HIV/AIDS, malaria, and other diseases.
  • Ensure environmental sustainability.
  • Develop a global partnership for development.

What are the 8 Millennium Development Goals?

Millennium Development Goals

The Millennium Development Goals (MDGs)
Goal 1 Eradicate extreme poverty and hunger
Goal 6 Combating HIV/AIDs, malaria, and other diseases
Goal 7 Ensure environmental sustainability
Goal 8 Develop a global partnership for development

Which country topped SDG 2021?

India has a score of 60.07. Last year India’s rank was 117. The Index measures the country’s total progress towards achieving the 17 Sustainable Development Goals. The Index has been topped by Finland.

WHO releases SDG India Index?

The NITI Aayog
The NITI Aayog released the Baseline Report of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDG) India Index, which comprehensively documents the progress made by India’s States and Union Territories towards implementing the 2030 SDG targets.

How many universal goals were set 2015?

The Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) were eight international development goals for the year 2015 that had been established following the Millennium Summit of the United Nations in 2000, following the adoption of the United Nations Millennium Declaration.

What is the difference between MDGs and SDGs?

Unlike the MDGs, which only targets the developing countries, the SDGs apply to all countries whether rich, middle or poor countries. The SDGs are also nationally-owned and country-led, wherein each country is given the freedom to establish a national framework in achieving the SDGs.

What are the 3 pillars of sustainable development?

Sustainability has three main pillars: economic, environmental, and social. These three pillars are informally referred to as people, planet, and profits.

What is the objective of sustainable development?

The Sustainable Development Goals, also known as the Global Goals, seek to reconcile economic growth, environmental balance and social progress, ensuring that all people have the same opportunities and can lead a better life without compromising the planet.

Why SDG 16 is important?

SDG 16 aims to improve people’s lives by reducing violence, improving access to justice, and promoting effective, accountable, and inclusive institutions.

Why SDG 13 is important?

SDG 13 seeks to combat climate change and address its impacts. SDG target 13.1 specifically aims to strengthen resilience and adaptive capacity to climate-related hazards and natural disasters. Such events represent the leading edge of climate change.