How much is grand larceny in Connecticut?

How much is grand larceny in Connecticut?

This occurs when the amount of property stolen exceeds $10,000. This is a class B felony, meaning that if you are convicted, you face a $15,000 fine and a prison sentence of 1-20 years. Second-degree larceny is also serious, but slightly less serious than first-degree larceny.

What is the penalty for 6th degree larceny in CT?

Sixth degree larceny is a class C misdemeanor. This means that the maximum penalty is a jail term of up to three months, a fine of up to $500, or both. A lawyer in Connecticut could help someone mitigate the penalties of 6th degree larceny charges.

What is 5th degree larceny in CT?

Larceny in the fifth degree can be charged in any larceny case in which the value of the property or service exceeds $500 but is less than $1,000. Most larceny in the fifth-degree cases are for shoplifting, but according to C.G.S. § 53a-119 larceny includes multiple forms of taking property or services of another.

What is the sentence of larceny?

If you are convicted for petty larceny, you face a fine of up to $1,000, a county jail sentence of up to six months, or both the fine and jail time. Grand larceny is a wobbler offense, meaning it could be charged as a misdemeanor or felony. A misdemeanor conviction is punishable by up to one year in county jail.

What is first degree larceny in CT?

General Statutes § 53a-122 is the Connecticut statute that defines larceny in the first degree. A person commits this crime by unlawfully taking someone’s property or motor vehicle valued at $20,000 or more. If the property that was taken is valued at less than $20,000, a lower degree of larceny will apply.

What is 4th degree larceny in CT?

(a) A person is guilty of larceny in the fourth degree when he commits larceny as defined in section 53a-119 and the value of the property or service exceeds five hundred dollars. (b) Larceny in the fourth degree is a class A misdemeanor.

What is third degree larceny in CT?

Third-Degree Larceny A person commits larceny in the third degree when the theft involves: property or services valued at more than $2,000 but less than $10,000. a motor vehicle valued at less than $10,000. a public record or instrument, or.

What is a Class A or B misdemeanor in CT?

Class A misdemeanors are the most serious misdemeanors in Connecticut, punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $2,000. (Conn. Gen. Stat.

Can you go to jail for a misdemeanor CT?

Criminal offenses in Connecticut are classified as felonies, which are punishable by imprisonment for over one year, and misdemeanors, which are punishable by imprisonment for not more than one year.

How long does a misdemeanor stay on your record in CT?

A misdemeanor will stay on your record for the rest of your life unless you can get it expunged. An expungement erases your entire Connecticut state criminal record. To apply, you must wait 3 years (for a misdemeanor) or 5 years (for a felony) from the disposition date.

What are the common types of larceny?

Common types of larceny are pocket picking and purse snatching; cell phone theft; bicycle theft; theft from motor vehicles; mail theft; retail shrinkage, including employee theft, shoplifting, and organized retail crime (ORC); jewelry theft; art theft; numismatic theft, including coins, metals, and paper money; …

What’s the most common form of larceny?

Of the different forms of property crime, larceny-theft is the most common in the U.S. with more than 4.6 million reported cases in 2020. Among such cases, theft of items from motor vehicles is the most common type.

What is Class C felony in CT?

Class C Felonies Gen. Stat. § § 53a-35a, 53a-41.) A person who misrepresents his or her age in order to entice a child can be convicted of a class C felony.

How do I clear my criminal record in CT?

You must apply for an absolute pardon for all offenses. You can only apply to have your entire criminal history record erased. If you are unable to apply for an absolute pardon or your application is unsuccessful, you may be eligible for a “Provisional Pardon,” also referred to as a “Certificate of Employability.”

How much does it cost to get a pardon in Connecticut?

If criminal history exceeds the one year, your application will be returned. Why do I have to pay a fee to the State Police? What is DESPP? The Board of Pardons and Paroles does not currently charge a fee to apply for a pardon.