How many classifications are there in TDG?

How many classifications are there in TDG?

The Transportation of Dangerous Goods (TDG) Act divides dangerous goods into nine classes according to the type of danger they present. The nine classes, as well as their divisions, are described in “The Marks of Safety” handout.

How do I remember the 9 Hazmat classes?

How do you remember them? There are many variations of the above.

  1. Class 1: Explosives.
  2. Class 2: Gases.
  3. Class 3: Flammable and Combustible Liquids.
  4. Class 4: Flammable Solids.
  5. Class 5: Oxidizing Substances, Organic Peroxides.
  6. Class 6: Toxic Substances and Infectious Substances.
  7. Class 7: Radioactive Materials.

What are Class 4 dangerous goods examples?

Class 4 Dangerous Goods Examples Commonly transported class 4 dangerous goods include sulphur, matches, activated carbon, alkali metals and some metal powders.

How many hazard classes are there?

nine different
The DOT separates hazardous materials into nine different categories or “hazard classes.” They are defined by specific hazardous properties and have distinct regulatory requirements for packaging, markings, and labels.

What is TDG classification?

What is a classification? Classification is defined in Part 1 of the TDG Regulations as: “classification means, for dangerous goods, as applicable, the shipping name, the primary class, the compatibility group, the subsidiary class, the UN number, the packing group, and the infectious substance category.”

Which TDG classes have 3 divisions?

There are three divisions: flammable gases, non-flammable and non-toxic gases, and toxic gases.

Is Class 55 a hazmat?


What is a Class 5 dangerous good?

CLASS 5 – Oxidizing Substances and Organic Peroxides 5.2 An organic compound that contains the bivalent “-O-O-” structure which is a strong oxidizing agent and may be liable to explosive decomposition, be sensitive to heat, shock or friction or react dangerously with other dangerous goods.

What is a class 3 dangerous good?

Class 3 dangerous goods are flammable liquids with flash points no more than 60 celcius degrees. It covers liquid substances, molten solid substances with a flash point above 60 celcius degrees and liquid desensitized explosives.

What are the 6 categories of hazmat?

Classifications of Hazardous Materials

  • Class 1: Explosives.
  • Class 2: Gases.
  • Class 3: Flammable liquids.
  • Class 4: Flammable solids.
  • Class 5: Oxidizers/organic peroxides.
  • Class 6: Toxic and infectious substances.
  • Class 7: Radioactive material.
  • Class 8: Corrosives.

What does TDG Schedule 3 contain?

Schedule 3 includes dangerous goods that are forbidden for transport but that do not have a UN number. Packing Group/Category. This column gives the packing group or category for the dangerous goods. Special Provisions.

Is diesel a Class 3?

The UN upper limit for Class 3 is normally FP 60ºC, above which the material is not regarded as dangerous for transport. However, diesel came within the full scope of the Regulations recently. Beyond that, a flammable liquid is included in Class 3 if it has a FP above 60ºC and is carried at a temperature above its FP.

What is a Class 3 substance?

What are the 18 freight classes?

What are the 18 Different Types of Freight Class?

Class Name Notes, Examples
Class 150 Auto sheet metal parts, bookcases,
Class 175 Clothing, couches stuffed furniture
Class 200 Auto sheet metal parts, aircraft parts, aluminum table, packaged mattresses,
Class 250 Bamboo furniture, mattress and box spring, plasma TV

What is a Class 50 freight?

Freight shipping class 50 applies to only the densest and easily transportable freight items. Typically, to qualify for code 50, a shipment must have a weight range per cubic foot of over 50 lbs, be very durable and easily handled, and able to be shrink-wrapped and stowed on a standard 4×4 pallet.

What does class 9 mean?

miscellaneous hazardous materials
Class 9 hazardous materials are miscellaneous hazardous materials. That is, they are materials that present a hazard during transportation, but they do not meet the definition of any other hazard class.

What is a Class 8 hazard?

Class 8 dangerous goods are corrosive substances. There is no sub-division. Corrosive substances may cause severe damage when in contact with living tissue such as skin or damage or destroy surrounding materials in case of leakage.

What is a Class 7 hazardous material?

Hazard Class 7: Radioactive Material.

What is a Class 1 dangerous good?

CLASS 1 – Explosives. 1.1 A substance or article with a mass explosion hazard. 1.2 A substance or article with a fragment projection hazard, but not a mass explosion hazard.