Which place knows Biraja Kshetra?

Which place knows Biraja Kshetra?

Jajpur is also known as Viraja Kshetra or Biraja Peetha. According to Skanda Purana,utkala khanda it washes all rajo guna of pilgrims. So called as Viraja or Biraja kshetra.

Who built Biraja Mandir?

The Biraja Temple, or Birija Kshetra (Odia:ବିରଜା ମନ୍ଦିର), is a historic Hindu temple located in Jajpur (about 125 kilometres (78 mi) north of Bhubaneswar), Odisha, India. The present temple was built during the 13th century….

Biraja Temple
Geographic coordinates 20°50′1.55″N 86°20′17.32″E

Who is goddess Biraja?

Gradualiy this was known as Jajpur . The other name for this place is ‘ Biraja ‘ or ‘ Girija kshetra . Biraja or Girija is the name of Devi Sati, the incarnation of Goddess Durga . According to Hindu mythology and Puran , Sati left her earthly body as her father Daksha Raj insulted her husband Shiva .

Is Biraja temple open today?

The temple will reopen adhering to Covid-19 guidelines issued by the State Government. The devotees will be allowed for darshan between 6 AM and 5 PM everyday.

Why is Jajpur famous?

It is reputed to be one of the important Tantra Khetras in the state. The ancient monuments like Biraja Temple, Lord Baraha Temple, Daswasamedhaghat, Jagannath Temple, Trilochaneswar Temple, Ratnagiri, and Udayagiri and so many other places of historical importance add tourist attraction.

Where is Nabhi Gaya?

NABI GAYA: This is in Orissa, near Bijapur railway station. It is known as NABHI GAYA KSHETRA. Lord Brahma is worshipped here. It is also one of the 18 Shakthi Peetams ( GIRIJADEVI) where the naval point of Gayasur is placed.

When was Biraja temple built?

Some 100 km north of Bhubaneswar, there lies an ancient Hindu shrine in Jajpur, Biraja Temple also known as Viraja Kshetra. Said to be built during the 13th-century, the temple worships the Goddess Durga who is manifested here as Goddess Girija (Viraja).

What is the old name of Jajpur?

Jajpur, the place of the ancient Biraja Temple, was originally known as Biraja. Other names of the town in the ancient texts include Viranja, Varanja-nagara, Varaha-tirtha.

Who is the MLA of Jajpur?

Jajpur Assembly constituency

Current MLA Pranab Prakash Das
Party Biju Janata Dal
Elected year 2019

How many Shakti Peethas are there in Odisha?

‘Peetha Puja’ is quite different than ‘Mrunmayee Puja’ (worshipping Goddess Durga in pandals). There are nine such peethas across Odisha where special rituals are performed for ten to sixteen days (Shodasa Upachara/Shohala dinatmaka). The practice begins seven days earlier to Mahalaya and concludes on Vijaya Dashami.

Who is the king of Jajpur?

King Jajati
King Jajati, it is said, had organized a great yajna called Daswamedha at this place. For this, he brought 10,000 Brahmins from North India and got them settled in various localities later on.

Which Shakti Peeth is in Odisha?

Maa Tarini Temple Maa Tarini is accepted as the presiding deity for all Shakti and Tantrik peethas of Odisha. Shakti Puja had an initial beginning from tribal practices. She used to be worshipped by the tribal community and the practice is maintained till date.

Where are 18 Shakti Peethas located?

We recognize and worship them as Ashtadasha Shakti Peethas….18 Shakti Peethas.

Part of the Body Fallen Place Name Of Shakti
Hair Mysore (Karnataka) Chamundeshwari Devi
Upper Teeth Alampur (Telengana) Jogulamba Devi
Neck Srisailam (Andhra Pradesh) Bhramaramba Devi
Left eye Kolhapur (Maharastra) Mahalakshmi Devi

How old is Jajpur?

Jajpur District was formed by ‘Jajati Keshari’, the Somavanshi King in early 10th Century. The District takes its name from its head quarter town, Jajpur. The history of the Jajpur District from time immemorial is synonymous with the Biraja and Biraja Khetra. The Jajpur District came into being on 1st April 1993.

How many MLA are there in Jajpur district?

2019: (52): Pranab Prakash Das (BJD) 2014: (52): Pranab Prakash Das (BJD) 2009: (52): Pranab Prakash Das (BJD) 2004: (25): Parameswar Sethi (BJD)

How many Shakti Peethas are in Odisha?

Where did Sati navel fell?

Hyderabad, India It takes about two and half hours drive from Bhubaneswar to reach the shrine in Jajapur,also known as Navi Kshetra( where the navel of Sati fell).

How many Shakti Peethas are there in Telangana?

Of these, 18 are the most important body parts. We recognize and worship them as Ashtadasha Shakti Peethas….18 Shakti Peethas.

Part of the Body Fallen Place Name Of Shakti
Upper Teeth Alampur (Telengana) Jogulamba Devi
Neck Srisailam (Andhra Pradesh) Bhramaramba Devi

Where is Biraja Temple located in Odisha?

Biraja Temple or Viraja Kshetra , is one of the ancient Hindu temples located in the Jajpur district of Odisha, India. This present temple was built in 13th century. It is situated in the Jajpur township which is nearly 125 KM north from Bhubaneswar.

What is the significance of Biraja kshetra in Jajpur?

You can expect a call from them soon. Jajpur the ancient capital of Odisha was known as Biraja Kshetra. The temple of Goddess Biraja was the nerve centre which inspired the Bhaumakara and Somavamsi kings to great heights thereby elevating the socio cultural scenario of Odisha.

What is the history of Jajpur temple?

The present temple was built in the 13th century. The main idol is Devi Durga, who is worshiped as Viraja or Girija, and the temple gave Jajpur the nicknames “Viraja Kshetra” and “Biraja Peetha”.

How to reach Biraja Shaktipeeth from Cuttack?

Biraja Shaktipeeth present near Jajpur, which is in 100 km distance from Cuttack. Near Byasnagar > Jajpur district > Odisha Nearest Bus Stand : Jajpur Bus stand which is 2 km distance from temple Nearest Railway Station : Jajpur Keonjhar Road Railway station Nearest Airports : Bhubaneswar