How many French wine appellations are there?

How many French wine appellations are there?

Today, there are over 360 AOCs in France and most are within 11 primary growing regions (e.g. Rhône, Loire, Alsace, Bordeaux etc.).

What is a French wine appellation?

AOC (Appellation d’Origine Contrôlée) indicates the geographical origin, quality and (generally) the style of a wine. For example, Burgundy’s regional AOC Bourgogne Blanc covers more than 300 parishes, and denotes dry white wines made from Chardonnay, Pinot Blanc or Pinot Gris.

How many appellations are there in Bordeaux?

57 appellations
There are 57 appellations of Bordeaux wine. A wine’s appellation certifies that it has originated from its designated terroir and signifies some level of its quality.

Where are the French IGP zones?

Geographic tiers of IGP

  • IGP Val de Loire (formerly Vin de Pays du Jardin de France)
  • IGP Atlantique (Bordeaux, Dordogne, Charentais)
  • IGP Comte Tolosan (South-West)
  • IGP Pays d’Oc (Languedoc-Roussillon)
  • IGP Méditerranée (Provence and Corsica)
  • IGP Comtes Rhodaniens (Rhône Valley, Beaujolais and Savoie)

What are the three classification levels for French wine?

Rather than the four tiers of quality long used by France’s wines before this change, there are now three categories, which are discussed below.

  • AOP (Appellation d’Origine Protégée)
  • IGP (Indication Géographique Protégée or Vin de Pays)
  • Vin de France (or Vin de Table)

How does appellation system work in France?

French Wine Classifications Appellation d’Origine Contrôlée (AOC): A rank of AOC means that a wine was produced in a specific region, and exhibits a level of quality, and style. Each appellation has its own outlines with regard to grape variety, growing conditions, and permitted blends.

What are the four main wine classifications in France?

There are four main categories in the classification of French wine, although these are subdivided in a variety of ways. These are, Vin de Table, Vin de Pays, VDQS, and AOC.

Is St Emilion left or Right Bank?

The Right Bank’s most famous appellations are Pomerol and St-Emilion, the latter of which has four ‘satellite’ appellations. These are Montagne-, Lussac-, Puisseguin- and St-Georges St-Emilion.

How many appellations does Burgundy have?

Burgundy Wine Classification: Communal appellations There are 44 communal appellations. The wine then carries the name of the village in whose area it is produced. Examples of communal appellations: Beaune, Savigny les Beaune, Auxey-Duresses, Saint-Romain…

What is the difference between IGP and AOC?

What’s the Difference Between AOC and IGP? If an AOC refers to specific locations and specific rules, an IGP broadens those rules. Usually, an IGP comes from a larger area with fewer regulations on grape growing and varieties allowed.

What are IGP wines?

IGP (Indication Géographique Protégée), is a quality category of French wine, positioned between Vin de France and Appellation d’Origine Protegée (AOP). The category superceded Vin de Pays in 2009. The latter was initially introduced in September 1968 by the INAO, the official appellation authority.

Which is better grand cru or premier cru?

Yet, its classification system is relatively simple. Grand Cru is the top dog, while the tier just below it is named Premier Cru. A cru in Burgundy designates a high-quality vineyard. Often, they’re split into parcels owned by different wineries or estates.

What does grand cru mean in St Emilion?

Saint-Emilion Grand Cru Wine Saint-Émilion Grand Cru wines are produced under slightly tighter production restrictions than regular Saint-Émilion wines. As with other grand cru appellations, the intention behind this is to improve the quality, and to distinguish the area’s finer wines from the more everyday wines.

What does IGP mean in French wine?

Indication Géographique Protégée
IGP (Indication Géographique Protégée), is a quality category of French wine, positioned between Vin de France and Appellation d’Origine Protegée (AOP).